Account Migration Tutorial

This feature is currently only available for customers on our Team plan. For all other plans, it will become available shortly.

As you’ve probably heard already, we’re retiring our veteran product “Live Chat” on Jul. 31, 2021, moving all our users to our new product “Unified Messaging” (UM).

With the scheduled migration, you can move your account now and start enjoying the benefits of our superior product right away. Here’s everything you need to know.

Why migrate (now)?

We’re genuinely convinced that our new product is superior to Live Chat and you won’t miss a thing. It has everything our old product had, plus a lot more:

  • **Reduced need of being online.** Our new product supports live chats as well as asynchronous messaging. This means that both sides can read and send messages when it suits them, even if the other side is not online. Thus, to answer your customers from within Userlike, you no longer have to be online at the same time as them. Just reply when you’re back.
  • **Built on the latest technology.** UM has a similar feel to the browser versions of the messaging apps you’re used to, but with a business layer tailored to sales and support needs.
  • **Messenger channels.** Connect Userlike with even more mobile messaging apps, including WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, SMS, Telegram, Threema, and others.
  • **Packed with new features.** Multimedia support, Live Translation, and much more. To view them all, take a look at our complete feature overview.
Our new Widget: the Website Messenger.

If you wonder why we rebuilt our entire product, check out this blog post.

What happens to my Live Chat data?

During migration, we try to move as much of your data to UM as possible. We distinguish two types of data here:

  • Configurations: will be migrated.
  • Chat-related data: will not be migrated.

Configurations

This type of data is essential for you to continue chatting and working with Userlike right after the migration. It includes Widgets, operators, macros, topics, add-ons, etc.

All settings that are also available in UM will be transferred to the new product with your respective configurations intact. New settings that only exist in UM are set to their default. We have always chosen as default what is most intuitive and suits most users. You can edit each setting right after the migration.

Widget migrated from Live Chat to Unified Messaging. Settings that also exist in UM were migrated, everything else set to default.

Chat-related data

This type of data includes chats, offline messages and transcripts, so it may contain important customer information.

Chat-related data will not be part of the migration due to lack of compatibility with our new system. In case you want to keep the data, we’ve added an export option for chat transcripts and offline messages that you can select while scheduling the migration. The data will then be provided as a download link after the migration.

Data overview

Here’s a list showing you how the data in your account is handled during migration:

Live Chat dataMigrated to UMExportable
Widgets*YesNo
Operators**YesNo
Operator groupsYesNo
ChatsNoNo
Chat transcriptsNoYes
Offline messagesNoYes
OrganizationsYesNo
Widget routersYesNo
Widget goalsYesNo
Add-on settings***YesNo
Chat topicsYesNo
Macros and macro groupsYesNo
RolesYesNo
SkillsYesNo
Analytics data****NoYes
Analytics dashboardsNoNo

Widgets*: After the migration, your Widgets will still be implemented on the same pages, have the same main color, chat mode, data privacy settings, some of the same texts etc. They will, however, also have some new text and more advanced settings..

If you have already set up Widgets in Live Chat and UM and the sum of these widgets exceeds the Widget limit of your Userlike plan, this will block the migration.

Operators**: Strictly speaking, operators don’t need to be migrated because they already exist site-wide, thus across both products..

Add-on settings***: You can have only one version of each add-on type per product. For example, if you have set up a Slack add-on in both Live Chat and UM, our system won’t know which of them you wish to keep, and cancel (scheduling) the migration. To forestall this, delete one of the duplicates before scheduling the migration..

Analytics data****: This data will not be exported automatically, so please download it manually before the planned migration time to prevent the loss of important statistics. To export Analytics data, go to your Live Chat Analytics, select a section and click the **Download** button on the top right of a data set..

How does the migration work?

The migration itself has to be scheduled by the **Owner** of your Userlike account. They will find the corresponding section in the Dashboard under Unified Messaging Account Account migration

Let’s go through each step on the migration screen.

1. Select a date and time

Pick a suitable **migration date and time** for the move to the new Userlike product. Keep in mind that your account will be temporarily unavailable during the migration. We recommend days and times when you usually get fewer chats, like weekend days and night time. The earliest migration slot is the next full hour at least 2 hours from the current moment.

2. Choose your export options

Check the boxes to request an **export of all transcripts and/or offline messages** in your Live Chat account as CSV files during the migration. We’ll provide you with download links on the same page after the migration.

Note that depending on the volume of data, the export may take longer than the actual migration. While the export is running in the background, you’ll already be able to use the new product.

3. Schedule your migration

Click **CONFIRM** to save your selection and trigger a test run. If there are no issues, the migration is scheduled. If there are, a pop-up window will show you what you’ll have to fix in order to schedule the migration (for example, a Widget limit breach or duplicate add-ons). You’ll also receive an email with this information.

At the scheduled migration time, our system performs a second test run, which decides whether the migration will start or be cancelled. So, if you add Widgets or add-ons after you’ve scheduled a migration, make sure that these will not lead to issues that might block the migration.

If the migration is cancelled, you can schedule a new one once you’ve taken care of any conflicts.

How do I cancel or reschedule the migration?

To change the time of a scheduled migration or to cancel it, return to the account migration page and click the bin icon. You can now schedule a new migration.